Bren McLean


by on Sep.02, 2013, under Personal


The ‘fruit of the Spirit’ is a biblical term that sums up nine visible attributes of a true Christian life. Paul refers to these in his letter to the Galatians:

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”

Galatians 5:22-23

These ‘fruits’ are qualities that the Holy Spirit equips us within order to live a life that is honoring to God. Tim Keller has defined each of these for us, which can be found on a post by JD Greear:

In contrast to the ‘fruit of the Spirit’, there are ‘lusts of the flesh’. These are qualities that represent someone who is not living a life that is honoring to God.

What are the ‘lusts of the flesh’? Paul outlines these in Galatians 5:19-21:

“The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.”

The importance of these 2 terms is one builds up the church and one tears it down. I think it’s clear which one is which.

As long as sin exists in the world, we will all be tempted to follow the ‘lusts of the flesh’. However, with the Spirit of God in us, we are empowered to pursue the ‘fruits of the Spirit’ with boldness, with confidence, in the name of Jesus.



Leave a Reply

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!